Note: Blue arrows on the map indicate Programs that are not members of the Adult Literacy Initiative and are not funded by federal, state or city resources. All services are provided free of charge unless otherwise noted.

Notes:

GLE 0-4: Math/Reading/Writing *STAR: Pre-HiSET (Reading)
GLE 4-8: Pre-HiSET **GLE 8-12: Adult Diploma Program
GLE 8-12: HiSET ACP: Adult Career Pathways Program
SPL: Student Performance Level  M = morning, A = afternoon, E = evening

By Neighborhood

Allston-Brighton Jamaica Plain
Charlestown Mattapan
Chinatown North End
Dorchester Roslindale
Downtown Roxbury
East Boston South Boston
Hyde Park South End

Allston-Brighton

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Gardner Pilot Academy Adult ESOL Program 30 Athol Street, Allston, MA 02134 Michelle Duval (617) 635-8365 m.duval@live.com ESOL Basic Beginner-Advanced 5 E, Tues. & Thurs. 6-8:30 (September-May) Free ESOL Classes, Childcare Available
Jackson Mann Community School 500 Cambridge Street, Allston, MA 02134 Jill Uchiyama (617) 635-5153 jmccdirector@gmail.com ABE GLE 0-12 6 E 3
ESOL SPL 0-7 6 E 6

Back to Top

Charlestown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Charlestown Community Center 76 Monument Street, 2L, Charlestown, MA 02129 Lori D’Alleva (617) 635-5221 dalleva9@comcast.net *ABE GLE 4-12 5.25 M/A 4
ESOL SPL 0-5 6 M 3

Back to Top

Chinatown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Asian American Civic Association 87 Tyler Street, Boston, MA 02111 Richard M. Goldberg (617) 426-9492 x223 richard@aaca-boston.org ESOL SPL 3-6 8-9 M 8
Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Center 885 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111 Debby Wiesen (617) 635-5129 debby.wiesen@bcnc.net ESOL SPL 0-7 9 M/E 18

Back to Top

Dorchester

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
BCYF Perkins Adult Learning Program 155 Talbot Ave., Dorchester, MA 02124 Papa Diop (617) 635-1894 diopsmd@gmail.com *ABE GLE 4-12 9 E 3
ESOL SPL 1-5 6 E 3
College Bound Dorchester 222 Bowdoin Street, Dorchester, MA 02122 Ashley Hannah (617) 506-5968 ahannah@collegebounddorechester.org ESOL SPL 3-7 10-12 M 6
Haitian Multi-Service Center 185 Columbia Rd, Dorchester, MA 02121 Phillip Howard (617) 506-6622 phillip_howard@ccab.org *ABE GLE 0-12 6-16 M/E 8
ESOL SPL 0-7 6-8 M/E 10
Mujeres Unidas Avanzando 54 Clayton St., Dorchester, MA 02122 Johannah Malone (617) 282-3500 johannahmalone@gmail.com ABE GLE 0-12 8-10 M/A 5
ESOL SPL 0-7 8-10 M/A 4
St. Mary’s Center for Women and Children 90 Cushing Ave., Dorchester, MA 02125 Janella Ruiz (617) 436-8600 x240 jruiz@stmaryscenterma.org *ABE GLE 4-12 14-18 M 4
ACP GLE 7-12 9 M 1

Back to Top

Downtown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
International Institute of New England 2 Boylston Street, 3rd floor, Boston, MA 02116 Anita Mourino (617) 695-9990 amourino@iine.org ESOL SPL 0-6 9 E 4
Jewish Vocational Service 75 Federal Street, Boston, MA 02110 Barbara Garner

Amy Stein (volunteer coordinator)

(617) 399-3330

(617) 399-3218

bgarner@jvs-boston.org

AStein2@jvs-boston.org

**ABE GLE 2-12 9 M/A 24
YMCA of Greater Boston 3 Center Plaza Suite 901, Boston, MA 02108 Sarah Harkleroad (617) 927-8186 sharkleroad@ymcaboston.org ESOL SPL 0-5 9 E 4

Back to Top

East Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
East Boston Harborside Community Center 312 Border St., Boston, MA 02128 Carol A. Baglio (617) 635-5115 cbaglio@ebhcs.org ABE GLE 0-12 5-6 E 6
ESOL SPL 0-7 5-6.75 E 12

Back to Top

Hyde Park

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Jewish Vocational Service 35 Harvard Avenue, Hyde Park, MA 02136 Lorrie Anderson (617) 699-9116 landerson@jvs-boston.org ESOL SPL 1-7 9 M/A 4

Back to Top

Jamaica Plain

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Ecumenical Social Action Committee 3313 Washington Street, Suite 5, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lakia N. Cherry (617) 541-2639 lcherry.gedplus@gmail.com *ABE GLE 0-12 12 M 3
El Centro de Cardenal Cushing Center 19 St. Joseph Street, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lydia Spataru (617)552-4040 x.637  lydia_spataru@ccab.org ESOL SPL 0-7 14 M 10
Jamaica Plain Community Center (English High School) 144 McBride Street, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lisa E. Beatman (617) 635-5201 l.beatman@jpccalp.org *ABE GLE 4-12 9-12 E 6
ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M/E 10

Back to Top

Mattapan

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Action For Boston Community Development 535 River Street, Mattapan, MA 02126 Riva L. Pearson (617) 298-2045 x233 riva.pearson@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-6 10.5-12/td> M 3

Back to Top

North End

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Action For Boston Community Development 1 Michelangelo St., Boston, MA 02113 Nikola Kovacevic 617 523-8125 ext 207 nikola.kovacevic@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-7 6.5 M 3

Back to Top

Roslindale

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Action For Boston Community Development 19 Corinth Street, Roslindale, MA 02131 Lisa Garrone (617) 327-1152 x204 lisa.garrone@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-7 6 E 4

Back to Top

Roxbury

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Boston Public Schools 55 Malcolm X Boulevard, Roxbury, MA 02120 Maria Harris (617) 635-9300 miharris@bostonpublicschools.org **ABE GLE 8-12 9-10.5 M 2
ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M 4
ACP GLE 9-12 3.5-8.5 M/E 2
Dimock Community Health Center 55 Dimock Street, Roxbury, MA 02119 Martin Thomas Fox (617) 442-8800 x534 mthomas7@dimock.org *ABE GLE 4-12 12 M/A 3
Project Hope 550 Dudley Street, Roxbury, MA 02119 Donna Henderson (617) 442-1880 x232 dhenderson@prohope.org *ABE GLE 4-12 12 M/A 3
W.A.I.T.T House, Inc/Roxbury 117 Mt. Pleasant Ave., Roxbury, MA 02119 Stephen P. Hanley (617) 445-5510 waitthouse@aol.com **ABE GLE 3-12 16 M 4

Back to Top

South Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Notre Dame Education Center 200 Old Colony Avenue, South Boston, MA 02127 Paula Jurigian (617) 268-1912 x256 pjurigian@ndecboston.org *ABE GLE 2-12 8 M/A/E 6
ESOL SPL 0-7 5-10 M/A/E 9
NDEC, Julie’s Family Literacy 133 Dorchester Street, South Boston, MA 02127 Ann D’auria (617) 269-6663 x10 adauria@jflp.org *ABE GLE 4-12 14 M/A 3

Back to Top

South End

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule No. of Rate Base Classes
Educational Development Group 434 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118 Frances Laroche (617) 357-5717 frances@edginc.org ESOL SPL 0-3 16 M 1
United South End Settlements 566 Columbus Avenue, Boston, MA 02118 Joel Nitzberg (617)375-8120 Jnitzberg@uses.org *ABE GLE 0-12 12 M/A/E 5
ESOL SPL 4-7 12 M 2

Back to Top