Note: Blue arrows on the map indicate Programs that are not members of the Adult Literacy Initiative and are not funded by federal, state or city resources. All services are provided free of charge unless otherwise noted.

Notes:

GLE 0-4: Math/Reading/Writing *STAR: Pre-HiSET (Reading)
GLE 4-8: Pre-HiSET **GLE 8-12: Adult Diploma Program
GLE 8-12: HiSET ACP: Adult Career Pathways Program
SPL: Student Performance Level  M = morning, A = afternoon, E = evening

By Neighborhood

Allston-Brighton Jamaica Plain
Charlestown Mattapan
Chinatown Mission Hill
Dorchester Roslindale
Downtown Roxbury
East Boston South Boston
Hyde Park South End

Allston-Brighton

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Gardner Pilot Academy Adult ESOL Program 30 Athol Street, Allston, MA 02134 Michelle Duval 617-635-8365 m.duval@live.com ESOL Basic Beginner-Advanced 5 E, Tues. & Thurs. 6-8:30 (September-May)
Jackson Mann Community School 500 Cambridge Street, Allston, MA 02134 Dwight Jarrat 617-635-5153 dwight.jarrat@jacksonmanncc.org ABE GLE 0-12 6 E
ESOL SPL 0-7 6 E
The Literacy Connection 637 Cambridge St. Brighton, MA 02135 Jill Uchiyama 617-746-2100 jill.uchiyama@cjsboston.org ESOL any levels 2 E
Citizenship E

Back to Top

Charlestown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Charlestown Community Center 76 Monument Street, 2L, Charlestown, MA 02129 Lori D’Alleva 617-635-5221 cccae@comcast.net *ABE GLE 4-12 5.25 M/A
ESOL SPL 0-5 6 M

Back to Top

Chinatown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Asian American Civic Association 87 Tyler Street, Boston, MA 02111 Shinobu Ando 617-426-9492 x222 shinobuando@aaca-boston.org ESOL SPL 3-6 8-9 M
Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Center 885 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111 Fred Bennett 617-635-5129 fred.bennett@bcnc.net ESOL SPL 0-7 9 M/E

Back to Top

Dorchester

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
BCYF Perkins Adult Learning Program 155 Talbot Ave., Dorchester, MA 02124 Papa Diop 617-635-1894 diopsmd@gmail.com *ABE GLE 4-12 9 E
ESOL SPL 1-5 6 E
College Bound Dorchester 222 Bowdoin Street, Dorchester, MA 02122 Ashley Hannah 617-506-5968 ahannah@collegebounddorechester.org ESOL SPL 3-7 10-12 M
Haitian Multi-Service Center 185 Columbia Rd, Dorchester, MA 02121 Phillip Howard 617-506-6622 phillip_howard@ccab.org *ABE GLE 0-12 6-16 M/E
ESOL SPL 0-7 6-8 M/E
Mujeres Unidas Avanzando 54 Clayton St., Dorchester, MA 02122 Johannah Malone 617-282-3500 johannahmalone@gmail.com ABE GLE 0-12 8-10 M/A

Back to Top

Downtown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
International Institute of New England 2 Boylston Street, 3rd floor, Boston, MA 02116 Steve Levin 617-695-9990 slevin@iine.org ESOL SPL 0-6 9 E
Jewish Vocational Service 75 Federal Street, Boston, MA 02110 Barbara Garner

Amy Stein (volunteer coordinator)

617-399-3330

617-399-3218

bgarner@jvs-boston.org

AStein2@jvs-boston.org

**ABE GLE 2-12 9 M/A
YMCA of Greater Boston 100 Franklin Street, Lower Level, Boston, MA 021110 Sarah Poole

 

617-933-0517 spoole@ymcaboston.org ESOL SPL 0-5 9 A/E

Back to Top

East Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
East Boston Harborside Community Center 312 Border St., Boston, MA 02128 Carol A. Baglio 617-635-5115 cbaglio@ebhcs.org ABE GLE 0-12 5-6 E
ESOL SPL 0-7 5-6.75 E

Back to Top

Hyde Park

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Jewish Vocational Service 35 Harvard Avenue, Hyde Park, MA 02136 Riva Pearson 617-699-9116 rpearson@jvs-boston.org ESOL SPL 1-7 9 M/A

Back to Top

Jamaica Plain

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
El Centro de Cardenal Cushing Center 19 St. Joseph Street, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lydia Spataru 617-552-4040 x.637  lydia_spataru@ccab.org ESOL SPL 0-7 14 M
Jamaica Plain Community Center (English High School) 144 McBride Street, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lisa E. Beatman 617-635-5201 l.beatman@jpccalp.org *ABE GLE 4-12 9-12 E
ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M/E

Back to Top

Mattapan

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Action For Boston Community Development 535 River Street, Mattapan, MA 02126 Vidhartha
Deonarain
617-298-2045 x233 vidharthadeonarain@bostonabcd.or
g
ESOL SPL 0-6 10.5-12/td> M

Back to Top

Mission Hill

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
ABCD Parker Hill/Fenway 714 Parker St., Boston, MA 02120 Alyssa Bacon 617-445-6000 alyssa.bacon@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 1-3 6 M/A

Back to Top

Roslindale

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Action For Boston Community Development 19 Corinth Street, Roslindale, MA 02131 Lisa Garrone 617-327-1152 x204 lisa.garrone@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-7 6 E

Back to Top

Roxbury

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Boston Public Schools 55 Malcolm X Boulevard, Roxbury, MA 02120 Maria Harris 617-635-9300 miharris@bostonpublicschools.org **ABE GLE 8-12 9-10.5 M
ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M
ACP GLE 9-12 3.5-8.5 M/E
Project Hope 550 Dudley Street, Roxbury, MA 02119 Donna Henderson 617-442-1880 x232 dhenderson@prohope.org *ABE GLE 4-12 12 M/A

Back to Top

South Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Notre Dame Education Center 200 Old Colony Avenue, South Boston, MA 02127 Paula Jurigian 617-268-1912 x256 pjurigian@ndecboston.org *ABE GLE 2-12 8 M/A/E
ESOL SPL 0-7 5-10 M/A/E
NDEC, Julie’s Family Literacy 133 Dorchester Street, South Boston, MA 02127 Ann D’auria 617-269-6663 x10 adauria@jflp.org *ABE GLE 4-12 14 M/A

Back to Top

South End

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Educational Development Group 434 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118 Frances Laroche 617-357-5717 frances@edginc.org ESOL SPL 0-3 16 M
Bunker Hill Community College – South End 630 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02118 Guy Amand 617-228-1962 garmand@bhcc.mass.edu  ESOL SPL 4-7 12 M

Back to Top

One thought on “Programs

Comments are closed.