Note: Blue arrows on the map indicate Programs that are not members of the Adult Literacy Initiative and are not funded by federal, state or city resources. All services are provided free of charge unless otherwise noted.

Notes:

GLE 0-4: Math/Reading/Writing *STAR: Pre-HiSET (Reading)
GLE 4-8: Pre-HiSET **GLE 8-12: Adult Diploma Program
GLE 8-12: HiSET ACP: Adult Career Pathways Program
SPL: Student Performance Level  M = morning, A = afternoon, E = evening
 

By Neighborhood

Allston-Brighton Jamaica Plain
Charlestown Mattapan
Chinatown Mission Hill
Dorchester Roslindale
Downtown Roxbury
East Boston South Boston
Hyde Park South End

Allston-Brighton

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Gardner Pilot Academy Adult Education Program 30 Athol Street, Allston, MA 02134 Michelle Duval 617-635-8365 m.duval@live.com ESOL Basic Beginner-Advanced 5 E
Jackson Mann Community School 500 Cambridge Street, Allston, MA 02134 Dwight Jarrat 617-635-5153 dwight.jarrat@jacksonmanncc.org ABE GLE 0-12 6 E
          ESOL SPL 0-7 6 E
The Literacy Connection 637 Cambridge St. Brighton, MA 02135 Jill Uchiyama 617-746-2100 jill.uchiyama@cjsboston.org ESOL any levels 2 E
          Citizenship     E

Back to Top

Charlestown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
BHA Charlestown Adult Education 76 Monument Street,  Charlestown, MA 02129 Lori D’Alleva 617-635-5221 cccae@comcast.net *ABE GLE 4-12 5.25 M/A
          ESOL SPL 0-5 6 M

Back to Top

Chinatown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Asian American Civic Association 87 Tyler Street, Boston, MA 02111 Shinobu Ando 617-426-9492 x222 shinobuando@aaca-boston.org ESOL SPL 3-6 8-9 M/A
Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Center 38 Ash Street, Boston, MA 02111 Shirely Doan 617-635-5129 shirley.doan@bcnc.net ESOL SPL 0-7 9 M/E

Back to Top

Dorchester

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
BCYF Perkins Adult Learning Program 155 Talbot Ave., Dorchester, MA 02124 Papa Diop 617-635-1894 papa.diop@boston.gov ESOL SPL 2-5 9 E
          ESOL SPL 1-5 6 E
College Bound Dorchester 222 Bowdoin Street, Dorchester, MA 02122 Ashley Hannah 617-944-1086 ashley@uncornered.org ESOL SPL 1-4 10-12 M/A
          ABE GLE 4-12 4 M/A
Haitian Multi-Service Center 185 Columbia Rd, Dorchester, MA 02121 Phillip Howard 617-506-6600 phillip_howard@ccab.org *ABE GLE 0-12 6-16 M/E
          ESOL SPL 0-7 6-8 M/A/E
Mujeres Unidas Avanzando 54 Clayton St., Dorchester, MA 02122 Johannah Malone 617-282-3500 johannahmalone@gmail.com ABE GLE 0-12 8-10 M/A
          ESOL      

Back to Top

Downtown

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Irish International Immigrant Center One State Street, Suite 800 Boston, MA 02129 Erin Chubb 617-542-7654 echubb@iiicenter.org ESOL     M/E
International Institute of New England 2 Boylston Street, 3rd floor, Boston, MA 02116 Alexandra Weber 617-695-9990 aweber@iine.org ESOL SPL 0-6 9 E
Jewish Vocational Service 75 Federal Street, 3rd floor, Boston, MA 02110 Martin O’Brien 617-399-3131 MO’Brien@jvs-boston.org **ABE GLE 4-12 9 M/A
YMCA International Learning Center 100 Franklin Street, Lower Level, Boston, MA 02110 Sarah Poole 617-927-8244 international@ymcaboston.org ESOL SPL 0-6 9 M/A/E

Back to Top

East Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
East Boston Harborside Community Center 312 Border St., Boston, MA 02128 Carol A. Baglio 617-635-5114 cbaglio@ebhcs.org ABE GLE 1-3 6.75 E
          ESOL SPL 1-3 4-6.75 E

Back to Top

Hyde Park

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Jewish Vocational Service 35 Harvard Ave, Hyde Park, MA 02136 Riva Pearson 617-699-9116 rpearson@jvs-boston.org ESOL SPL 1-3 9 M/A

Back to Top

Jamaica Plain

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
El Centro de Cardenal Cushing Center 19 St. Joseph Street, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Lydia Spataru 617-552-4040  lydia_spataru@ccab.org ESOL SPL 0-7 20 M/A
Jamaica Plain Community Center (English High School) 144 McBride Street, Room 117, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Joyce Henderson 617-635-5201 jehenderson.jpcc@gmail.com *ABE GLE 4-12 9-12 E
          ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M/E
X-Cel Education 7 Glenvale Terrace Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 Don Sands 617-522-2590 dsands@xceleducation.org ABE GLE 4-12   M/E

Back to Top

Mattapan

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Action For Boston Community Development 535 River Street, Mattapan, MA 02126 Cheyenne Deveney 617-298-2045 cheyenne.deveney@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-7 10.5-12 M/A

Back to Top

Mission Hill

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
ABCD Parker Hill/Fenway 714 Parker St., Boston, MA 02120 Alyssa Bacon 617-445-6000 alyssa.bacon@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 1-3 6 M/A

Back to Top

Roslindale

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Action For Boston Community Development 19 Corinth Street, Roslindale, MA 02131 Lisa Garrone 617-327-1152 x204 lisa.garrone@bostonabcd.org ESOL SPL 0-7 6 M/E

Back to Top

Roxbury

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Boston Public Schools 55 Malcolm X Boulevard, Roxbury, MA 02120 Kristen D’Avolio 617-635-9300 kdavolio@bostonpublicschools.org **ABE GLE 8-12 9-10.5 M
          ESOL SPL 0-7 9-12 M
          ACP GLE 9-12 3.5-8.5 M/E
Project Hope 550 Dudley Street, Roxbury, MA 02119 Patricia Goulbourne 617-442-1880 x253 pgoulbourne@prohope.org *ABE GLE 4-12 12 M/A
          ESOL      

Back to Top

South Boston

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Laboure Center Adult Education 275 West Broadway, South Boston, MA 02127 Veronica Robson 617-464-8551 veronica_robson@ccab.org ESOL     M/E
NDEC, Julie’s Family Literacy 133 Dorchester Street, South Boston, MA 02127 Anna Fernandez-Buehrens 617-269-6663 x34 afernandez-buehrens@juliesfamily.org *ABE GLE 1-3 14 M/A/E

Back to Top

South End

Name Program Address Contact Phone Email Address Class Focus Level Hrs/Wk Class Schedule
Educational Development Group 434 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118 Frances Laroche 617-357-5717 frances@edginc.org ESOL SPL 0-3 25 M/A

Back to Top

One thought on “Programs

Comments are closed.